24
Jan
10

Graveyard for Kyusha.

Forgive the lack of posting recently but I’d thought I’d make up with a post about a wreckers I visited today. When I was younger and my father and I would drop into pick parts up I remember seeing a huge selection of all the ADM delivered Japanese cars and always thinking when I need a part ill know where to find it.

But due to the metal price being so high at the peak of the stock market before the stock market crash combined with the fact that most 80’s Nissan and Toyota’s were used as a teenager’s first car and get treated accordingly (huger generalization I know) sadly there’s not many of these places left holding a large variety of cars worth taking a look at. I’d been told about Kelly wreckers in Zillmere, Brisbane a while back but only today finally got off my ass to go take a look.

They had about 15 B210 (120Y) Sunny’s, sedan 2 & 4 door and even a lift back which in the most part seamed to of had there day.

They had a few 610 Bluebirds (180B), three of which had pretty mint tail light assemblies.

follow that with some 810’s (200B) Bluebirds as well including a 2door (3rd car down in photo)

Two C210 (240K) Skylines, shame was they were both auto and im looking for a manual pedal box for my YonMeri C110 project… oh well.

Three RT81 corona’s in varying conditions.

MX36V Cressida wagon! Most of the parts were there although the engine, interior and front panels need replacing this would be an amazing project, I have much love for these wagons.

They almost rivaled B210’s with the number of Ke70 Corolla’s there to part out. Wagons, Vans and Sedan in one row.

X60 Celica’s, only one Ra65 there, the other 4 were RA60/SA63’s

My favorite Corona of all time the RT142, the Avante was the last xT14x corona to be sold in Oz and the only one to come with IRS. This also had the JDM tail lights, bumpers and equipped with a 22Re, W55 gearbox & F series diff. ive been told this was a JDM import sold straight off the boat to the Australia public rather than other corona’s which were assembled in Australia and featured the borg wanger live axle diff, pov spec interior and either a S or earlier R series motor and borg wanger gearbox’s

A few of the last FR mazda 626’s, I always wondered why more people havnt tried to build one of these up as a cheep slider but I can never really get past there… dull looks and I guess not many others could too.

Mazda HB? 929 or luce which looked to be in pretty nice condition… I always thought these were the closest 80’s car to look more like a concept rather than a production model. Love those long flip up head lights.

Mitsubishi gets some love in as well. They had several early lancers and gallants including two gallant wagons.

I always thought building a lift back lancer would be cool, they almost (if you squint) look like a C110 kenmeri. Would love to complete the look with some Stove top skyline tail light/tail light panel and a different front hedlight/grill set.

Its not that had to find that place if your interested in a look or to get some parts but something tells me they know what there sitting on so I doubt you’ll walk away with a boot full of bargains. If you’re looking for a 610 or a complete B210 and you had some time and made a good enough offer im sure you could put together a pretty nice car out of all the cars to pick from. Personally knowing that they have two RT142’s sitting there gets me thinking of a future project down the track.

Parting shot. Be mindful of the live stock that roams around. The cows didn’t seam to bad but the goat did look a bit intimidating.
Thanks for reading.
JohnZoku.

5 Responses to “Graveyard for Kyusha.”


  1. March 9, 2010 at 7:01 pm

    Poor poor cars!
    BTW, great blog, would like to add you to my blogroll if you agree?

  2. 3 amad
    March 13, 2011 at 1:35 am

    i want to ask u about the ra60.. do u want to sell it???
    I’m from malaysia

  3. 4 LezSpaz
    April 27, 2011 at 1:30 am

    Hey mate, gotta show you the one and only decent 929 I’ve seen. It’s around the corner of my gf’s place. Next time I head that way and it’s there, I’ll take a pic for you :P

  4. 5 Jay
    April 16, 2013 at 10:54 am

    I am a toyota freek. I would really like to get one of these old coronas. I live in Canada. Any ideas on getting one here.?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

